Skip to content

3D Multiphase filling simulation of microstructure

OpenLB – Open Source Lattice Boltzmann Code Forums on OpenLB General Topics 3D Multiphase filling simulation of microstructure

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    stefanocassola
    Participant

Hi there,

first of all I’d like to mention that the level of activity in this community/forum is really great to see. I am completely new to LBM and OpenLB. Before coming to this forum, I have checked other software packages with very little to no activity or develepment in recent years. So I decided to learn and use OpenLB for my problem.

Now coming to the problem definiton:
    I would like to perform a filling simulation of a fibrous microstructure meaning that due to a pressure gradient between inlet and outlet a resin (density somewhere around 1000 kg/m³) is entering the domain, fills the pore space between the fibers and pushes air out of the domain.
    Also I am dealing with stokes flow so Re<<1. I would also like to account for contact angles at the fiber boundaries.
    The geometry of the microstructure is available as a .dat file containing 0,1 and 2 values indicating pore space, fibers and fiber boundaries.

From what I know so far the Shan-Chen model is probably not suitable due to the high density ratio so I guess I have to go with Free Surface? Is there maybe a case that is similar to my setup? I tried to use the breakingDam3D.cpp as a template but since I am not experienced (yet) in OpenLB this is giving me a hard time to adapt it for my purposes. Could you maybe point me to some more examples from which I could use code snippets e.g. loading of the .dat file, boundary definition, etc?

Many thank in advance and best regards,

Stefano

TimBingert
    Participant

Hi Stefano,