Skip to content

Advection-Diffusion with source term

OpenLB – Open Source Lattice Boltzmann Code Forums on OpenLB General Topics Advection-Diffusion with source term

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    mithdradates
    Participant

Hello, I’m relatively new to the LB methods (and especially to OpenLB), so sorry if some of my questions sound stupid.

So, I’m trying to model evaporation of a droplet following the work of C. Zhang, P. Cheng, W.J. Minkowycz “Lattice Boltzmann simulation of forced condensation flow on a horizontal cold surface in the presence of non-condensable gas”. They use source term for their temperature distribution LB equation, so I was wondering if there is an advection-diffusion model with a source term in OpenLB ? If not, is there any way to implement it (a short guide would be very appreciated) ?

EDIT: I also have a second question – considering that I’m using Peng-Robinson EOS for the interparticle potential and this EOS contains temperature explicitly, can I couple NSLattice and ADLattice by simply utilizing the temperature from ADLattice ?

Thank you.

• This topic was modified 5 years, 1 month ago by mithdradates.
    mgaedtke
    Keymaster

Hi mithdradates,

to 1: I implemented the sourced advection diffusion model by Seta (https://journals.aps.org/pre/abstract/10.1103/PhysRevE.87.063304) a few month ago and it will be included in the next release, which will become available soon.

to 2: Yes, using the temperature from the ADlattice for this purpose should be the way to go. To get an idea how to achieve this in OpenLB you can have a look at the boussinesq coupling in src/dynamics/navierStokesAdvectionDiffusionCouplingPostProcessor2D . h and .hh

Best, Max

mithdradates
    Participant

Hello Max,

1: That sounds great, thank you for your work! Do you have any information on the date of the next release (somewhere in April or sooner \ later)?