Skip to content

applying the force into Fluid in the openLB code not DEFINITION

OpenLB – Open Source Lattice Boltzmann Code Forums on OpenLB General Topics applying the force into Fluid in the openLB code not DEFINITION

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Massload
    Participant

I am new to openLB and LBM. There are still many things I don’t understand. I am looking at the examples/turbulence/channel3d file, but where in the code is the FORCE defined in sLattice.defineField<FORCE>(superGeometry, 1, forceSolScaled); applied to the flow field? Where in the code is the FORCE defined in I thought it was sLattice.collapseAndStream(); but it was not easy.
    I also looked at the poiseille flow code, and it was easy to see where the FORCE is defined(sLattice.defineField<FORCE>(superGeometry, 1, force);), but not where the FORCE is applied to the flow field.

FBukreev
    Keymaster

Hello,

the application of the force takes place in the dynamics, in that case SmagorinskyForcedBGKdynamics. You can find these definitions in src/dynamics/smagorinskyBGKdynamics.h
    The force is then taked from the force fiels and applied in the collision.

Massload
    Participant

Thanks.
    In addition, after DEFINING boundary conddition(setInterpolatedVelocityBoundary and setInterpolatedPressureBoundary ) in the function of prepareLattice and in the function of setBoundaryValues( sLattice.defineU( superGeometry, 3, poiseuilleU );), when dose these boundary conddition apply to flow field and where dose these applyig are written in the openLB codes?

Now I look in cylinder3d.cpp.

shota
    Participant

Dear Massload,

the boundary conditions are applied depending on being a local or non-local operation (e.g., the interpolatedVelocityboundary is non-local as it requires interpolation from neighboring cells) at different stages during collideAndStream() managed by STAGE (e.g., PreCollide(), PostCollide(), etc.).