Skip to content

Editing The Script

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    Jijo
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I am new to OpenLB and I would like to ask a couple of questions. They mainly focus on the example Cavity2D. First, What is the Smagorinsky effect added to the code and how can I remove it? Second of all, if he initialized a constant Rayleigh Number, why at the end of the code he specifies different Rayleigh Number?

Your support is highly appreciated,

Adrian
    Keymaster

The laminar/cavity2d case doesn’t use Smagorinsky LES. You could add it by changing the bulk dynamics type and setting the collision::LES::Smagorinsky parameter (see e.g. examples/turbulence for reference).

The example is parameterized for Re=1000 by default and compares to matching literature values. I assume you are confused by the definition of vel_ghia_RE100 in 195: This is only so you can quickly switch to the Re=100 case reference values.

Jijo
    Participant

Dear Adrian,

Thank you for your reply. I apologize if I didn’t specify which folder. I am talking about square cavity2d from the thermal file.

Adrian
    Keymaster

Ok, no problem. By default Smagorinsky is not used in thermal/squareCavity2d (as the example specific #define SMAGORINSKY flag is commented out).

Jijo
    Participant

Dear Adrian,

If I want to add a parameter and store it later on. How can I do such thing. Please guide me because I am confused.

Adrian
    Keymaster

What do you mean by “add a parameter and store it later on”? Develop a new collision model with new parameters? Dynamically change some existing parameter value of the simulation? Something else?

Jijo
    Participant

For example, I want to get the tempreture at certain location(y) across lx.Then calculate Theta= T-Tcold/Thot-Tcold and plot it versus the original length.

Adrian
    Keymaster

One common way of extracting and plotting data is via post processing the VTK output in e.g. ParaView.