Skip to content

Gas-liquid turbulent flows with LBM

This topic contains 2 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  Aurelio H 2 months, 2 weeks ago.

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author

Aurelio H
    Participant

Hello everyone,

I am currently studying gas-liquid flow patterns using the lattice-Boltzmann method. Since both phases are expected to attain turbulent regime (Re around 1e5) in a range of situations, I am using the LES-Smagorinsky model, coupled with an MRT collision operator, for both liquid and gas phases.

The code works, but stability is a major issue. I have the impression this is mostly because relaxation frequencies are way too close to 2, but high velocities (>0.2) occur as well.

My latest ideas, which I will try soon, are:
    – Using an equilibrium distribution function up to o(Ma^3) or o(Ma^4), to reduce trouble with high velocities.
    – Using regularized-MRT dynamics.

I would greatly appreciate any suggestions on how to increase stability. Any useful references or papers on turbulent flows with LBM are welcome, too.

Thank you for your replies!

Marc
    Participant

Dear Aurelio,

I just can guess, because I don’t know your simulation setup. If you want to simulate such a high Reynolds number, you should respect your grid spacing.
    How do you estimate your grid spacing?
    Do you have a wallbounded flow, if this is the fact what is your y+?
    If you grid is to coarse you have to deal with a small tau, which could lead to instabilities.
    Do you know where the instabilities occur? (at the boundaries, at the gas liquid Interface…)
    You lattice velocitiy is too high, you should avoid lattice velocities higher than 0.1.

My suggestions:
    -increase your grid size to get a stable simulation
    -estimate your smallest scales and adapt your grid spacing again to get physical meaningful results

Best Marc

Aurelio H
    Participant

Dear Marc,