Skip to content

Implementation of a phase transition model

OpenLB – Open Source Lattice Boltzmann Code Forums on OpenLB General Topics Implementation of a phase transition model

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    N. Lümmen

I would like to implement a certain phase transition model (single-component) into OpenLB for studying bubble formation in liquids. I have some experience in programming in C++ (and other languages) but I am new to the Lattice Boltzmann method and the concept of template classes that OpenLB uses. rnI have taken a look at the documentation, examples and source code provided with OpenLB and studied some of the basic literature (the books of Succi and Sukop/Thorne) as well as some articles from the past years on this subject. However, OpenLB still looks quite complex to me and I do not have a good idea yet on how to get started with implementing something new other than trying to take the code for the Shan-Chen-model as a starting point. rnIs there anyone here who likes to share some advice or experience on how to get started? Thanks a lot in advance!rnrnBest regards, Norbert Lümmen.

mathias
    Keymaster

Hi Norbert,rnrnIt is certainly a good idea to start with our Shan-Chen model example. You will find that extending the code is less difficult from that starting point.rnrnI will contact you by email for further advice.rnrnBest regardsrnMathias

Leaf