Skip to content

Implementing compressible flow using improved density method

OpenLB – Open Source Lattice Boltzmann Code Forums on OpenLB General Topics Implementing compressible flow using improved density method

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    jslacey
    Participant

I am quite new to OpenLB, so I am still in the process of familiarizing myself with the framework. Eventually, I would like to simulate compressible fluid flow through a nozzle and so I am investigating how that could be implemented in OpenLB using the improved density method of S. Guo et al., Physics of Fluids, 2020. This requires the addition of another term to the second-order expansion of the equilibrium density distribution function that contains density and non-dimensional temperature. Within equilibrium.h and lbm.h, I have added SecondOrderCompressible, using the SecondOrder template as a starting point. Within smagorinskyBGKdynamics.h I added (just as a test):

/// Smagorinsky BGK collision step with Guo forcing
    template<typename T, typename DESCRIPTOR, typename MOMENTA=momenta::BulkTuple>
    using SmagorinskyCompForcedBGKdynamics = dynamics::Tuple<
    T, DESCRIPTOR,
    MOMENTA,
    equilibria::SecondOrderCompressible,
    collision::SmagorinskyEffectiveOmega<collision::BGK>,
    forcing::Guo<momenta::ForcedWithStress>
    >;