Skip to content

3d droplet impact

Viewing 13 posts - 1 through 13 (of 13 total)
  • Author
    abbas
    Participant

Hey all, Is it possible to simulate the droplet impact on the surface 2D or 3D using openLB. I am a beginner in OpenLB and not familiar with C++. I run the examples but the code is so confusing, I do not understand how the geometry is built for example in the laminar cylinder2d example I cannot find the relevant code. I have worked with Fortran to write LBM codes and i wanted to use OpenLB to run some 3d cedes but I found it so hard to modify or understand the example codes even in 2D, how to build a complete new simulation from zero. do you have any recommendation?

Adrian
    Keymaster

For a basic introduction into OpenLB you can check out e.g. the userguide [pdf].

The provided examples commonly set up the geometry (meaning material numbers assigned to cells) in the prepareGeometry function. This is also the case for laminar/cylinder2d.

For a droplet impact you could start out e.g. by taking a look and modifying the freeSurface/fallingDrop(2,3)d examples (if free surface is a workable model for your application).

abbas
    Participant

Thanks Adrian, The thing I don’t understand is there is no sign of the defining the geometry for example the circular obstacle. I only found the center of the obstacle information in cylinder2d.cpp file.
    In the userguide it is mentioned that the geometry is read through an .stl file which I also cannot find it in the directory of the cylinder2D example. for instance if I wanted to change the circular obstacle into a rectangular one what should I do?

abbas
    Participant

or for example if I want to put a hexagonal obstacle what part of the code should be changed?

Adrian
    Keymaster

For the cylinder2d example the most relevant line is 91:

superGeometry.rename( 1,5, circle );