Skip to content

Venturi3d example

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 32 total)
  • Author
    behnamandi
    Participant

Dear Openlb developers.

first of all, thanks for all the effort you put into openlb and making it available.

I’m a newbie to coding and I have just started using openlb and trying to do a few modifications to the venturi3d example.

what I did was simplifying the geometry to a pipe and placed a small cuboid as an obstacle inside the pipe.
    // Definition of the geometry of the venturi
    Vector<T,3> C0( 0,50,0 );
    Vector<T,3> C1( 5,50,0 );
    Vector<T,3> C2( 150,50,0 );
    Vector<T,3> C3( 155,50,0 );
    Vector<T,3> C4( 75,30,0 );

T radius2 = 20 ; // radius of the widest part
    T xlength = 20 ;
    T ylength = 30;
    T zlength = 5 ;

IndicatorCylinder3D<T> inflow( C0, C1, radius2 );
    IndicatorCylinder3D<T> cyl1( C1, C2, radius2 );
    IndicatorCuboid3D<T> cuboid1( xlength, ylength, zlength, C4);
    IndicatorCylinder3D<T> outflow0( C2, C3, radius2);

IndicatorIdentity3D<T> venturi( cyl1 – cuboid1 );

first question. is there a better way of combining the cylinder and the cuboid together. I tried cyl1+cuboid1 and this resulted into fluid going through the box even when I added “superGeometry.rename( 1,2,1,cuboid1 );” which i though might solve the problem.and when i make the cuboid long in X direction and thin in z direction, it removes material from the pipe which was strange. (maybe because of the clean function?)

second question. I dont quite understand this function “superGeometry.rename( 2,1,1,1,1 );” I read the source code comments. I know 2,1 means changing material number from 2 to 1. but what does 1,1,1, offset mean? Initially i thought it would mean it changes the material number around the pipe by an offset of 1 in all directions, but when i changed to 2,2,2 to see what happens, the error i get is unknown material number.

Thanks in advance for the answers.,

Regards,

Behnam

behnamandi
    Participant